Leanfinit vs Bolt.new: free building vs token limits
Leanfinit vs Bolt.new: Bolt meters every prompt in tokens and Pro is $25 a month. Leanfinit is free during the beta, with no watermark.
Disclosure: OwnlyReal and Leanfinit share founders.
Bolt.new is a fast browser builder, but every prompt and every AI fix is paid for in tokens, with daily and monthly caps on the free plan. Leanfinit is completely free during the beta, with no token budget to manage and no credit card. For people who want a finished app rather than a token plan, Leanfinit is our pick.
For non-developers choosing between the two in October 2026, Leanfinit is the better option: it is free during the beta, adds no watermark and needs no database setup. Bolt.new gives you a token allowance instead, and reviewers say a large share of it goes to fixing the AI's own mistakes.
Here is how the two compare on tokens, fix loops, hosting and mobile output.
01Quick comparison: Leanfinit, Bolt.new and the leaders
Only Leanfinit lets you build and publish with no allowance and no branding during the beta.
| Builder | Free allowance | Branding on free apps | First paid tier (as of October 2026) | Mobile output | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leanfinit | Free during the beta, no credit card | None | No paid plans | Flutter; mobile app in development | Leanfinit homepage |
| Bolt.new | 300K tokens a day, 1M a month | Bolt branding | Pro $25/mo | React Native via Expo | Bolt pricing |
| Lovable | 5 credits a day, 30 a month | Lovable badge | Pro $25/mo | Web only | Lovable docs |
| Replit | Daily Agent credits up to a monthly cap | "Made with Replit" badge | Core $20/mo | React Native via Expo | Replit docs |
| v0 | 7 messages a day | Not stated on pricing page | Plus $30/user/mo | Web only (Next.js) | v0 pricing |
| Base44 | 25 message credits a month | Not stated on pricing page | Starter $16/mo | Web apps and PWAs | Base44 pricing |
| Cursor | Limited Agent requests | Not applicable (code editor) | Pro $20/mo | Whatever you code | Cursor pricing |
02How Bolt.new's token limits work
Bolt.new meters AI work in tokens. The free plan gives 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month, and on Free, unused tokens do not roll over (Bolt pricing; Bolt FAQ). Hit the daily cap mid-fix and you wait until tomorrow.
Pro costs $25 a month and starts at 10M tokens a month with no daily limit and token rollover; Teams costs $30 per member per month (Bolt pricing). Bigger projects need more tokens, so the "starts at" matters.
03Where the tokens go: fix-it loops
The most common Bolt.new complaint is paying for the AI to repair its own work.
On G2, the token system is the top complaint; reviewers say Bolt rewrites whole files to fix small bugs, and some estimate up to half of their tokens go to fixing AI errors (G2).
Bolt.new holds a 1.6/5 rating on Trustpilot from 203 reviews, with complaints about tokens draining in error loops, charges after cancellation and slow support (Trustpilot).
To be fair, G2 reviewers also rate Bolt.new 4.3/5 and praise its fast in-browser prototyping and live preview (G2). The tool is quick; the meter is the problem.
04Leanfinit: building without a token budget
On Leanfinit there is no token count to watch, because it is completely free during the beta. You describe the app in plain words, get a working app in seconds and change it by describing what you want different. A rephrased request does not cost anything.
Clear descriptions still save time. Leanfinit's guide to describing an app idea in plain words shows how to say what you want so the first version lands close.
Name the things the app tracks and what you do with them, for example "a budget planner with categories, a monthly limit per category and a list of this month's spending". Then refine with short follow-ups.
On Bolt.new, a bug the AI introduces is billed to you. On Leanfinit, during the beta, fixing it is free.
05Databases and hosting: Leanfinit needs neither
Bolt.new apps store data in Bolt Cloud databases or Supabase, and Supabase databases require the Pro or Teams plan (Bolt FAQ). Free hosting on bolt.host covers up to 333K web requests and 10 GB of bandwidth a month, with Bolt branding; custom domains need Pro (Bolt pricing).
With Leanfinit there is no server, database or hosting to set up or pay for. When the app is ready, the Publish button puts it on the web, with no watermark. A good example is a customer tab tracker for a small shop: a list of customers, what they owe and a running total.
06Mobile: Expo on Bolt.new, Flutter on Leanfinit
Bolt.new builds mobile apps with React Native via Expo, tested in Expo Go. Store publishing runs through Expo's EAS service and needs your own developer accounts (Bolt Expo docs).
Leanfinit builds with Flutter, which renders its interface with its own engine rather than mapping to platform widgets (Flutter FAQ), and in our experience that gives a consistent look across devices. Today Leanfinit publishes apps to the web; its mobile app, which will generate offline apps that run on your device, is in development. Our Expo vs Flutter comparison goes deeper.
07When Bolt.new is the right call
Bolt.new suits developers who want to edit code in the browser and keep it in Git: it commits to GitHub automatically, pulls changes every 30 seconds and imports existing repos (Bolt Git docs). It reached $40M ARR and 3M+ registered users by March 2025 (Contrary Research).
If you write code and want a fast sandbox, Bolt.new is a reasonable tool. If you want the app without managing tokens, it is the wrong trade.
08Why we'd pick Leanfinit over Bolt.new
Leanfinit wins for anyone who measures success by a working app, not by tokens left. It is free during the beta, needs no Supabase, adds no branding and offers code export. For the wider picture of how fix loops drain budgets, see our credit burn comparison.
Bolt.new is fast, but every prompt and every repair is metered. Leanfinit gives you the same describe-and-build workflow free during the beta, which makes it our recommendation.
FAQ
Why do Bolt.new tokens run out so fast?
Reviewers say Bolt rewrites whole files to fix small bugs, and some estimate up to half of their tokens go to fixing AI errors. The free plan also caps usage at 300K tokens a day.
Is Bolt.new's free plan enough for one app?
It can be for a small prototype, but the 1M monthly tokens do not roll over, free sites carry Bolt branding and Supabase needs a paid plan.
Does Leanfinit charge for fixes or changes?
No. Leanfinit is completely free during the beta, so describing a change or a fix costs nothing.
Can I get my code out of Leanfinit and Bolt.new?
Yes. Bolt.new syncs with GitHub, and Leanfinit offers code export.
